Frequently Asked Questions

DMV Jetskis value our customers—we value our loyal customers even more! If you are a loyal customer (3 paid visits or more) and you bring people along with you each time you visit, you will receive a free ride courtesy of DMV Jetskis!

How fast are the jetskis?

This question is probably our most asked question of all. It really depends on the water conditions and the total weight of the person(s) onboard the jetski. One person onboard will most definitely go faster than three people on board. Our jetskis can go up to 55 miles per hour. Of course, you don’t have to go that fast but the jetski is capable of getting up to that speed.

Are the prices at DMV Jetskis per person?

No! The prices are not per person. The prices are based on the watercraft not the people on board. The prices include the operator plus the other person onboard.  We allow up to two riders onboard each jetski depending on the weight capacity.

Can we take the jetskis anywhere we want?

Yes you can! We are the only rental company in the area. You are allowed to take the jetski wherever you like. You must stay in eyesight of the guide that is with your group for safety purposes. The guides are there for your safety. Just think of it like you have a personal lifeguard with you as you’re enjoying driving the jetskis!

Does instructional time count towards your driving time?

No and yes. The driving time begins once you leave the dock however, if you are late, time will be deducted from your rental time.

What is the minimum age to rent a jetski at DMV Jetskis?

Maryland law requires that anyone operating a jetski be at least 16 years of age. You must have a parent or guardian sign for you if you are under the age of 18. All operators must submit a valid photo ID with birthdate and must complete a boaters safety course (see next FAQ).

Where do I go to take the boaters safety course?

The Boaters Safety course can be completed right at DMV Jetskis. The “open book” test takes about 10-15 minutes to complete and is 13 questions long. The test must be complete under the supervision of DMV Jetskis staff. The test is temporary and is only valid for your rental duration. If you would like to come back Maryland requires us to re-administer the test.